WYMHM: A parent comes around, military consoles & more on games as art

Video game: two words that have always been evil in my mind. And I have reminded my kids over and over how they shouldn't play them too much - they aren't good for you, they'll rot your brain - the list of horrible things goes on and on. Now, I was opening one for myself.

Right now, every military command post and every training center is packed with PCs. In the future, many of those machines might be replaced with game consoles — if the armed forces can ever work out their disagreements with the console-makers.

It’s good that there is some art that has a particular tone that’s prickly and intellectual, and then there is pop culture that’s embracing convention and is really accessible, but still capable of being profound. The Wu-Tang clan can be profound. To me that’s where games exist. That’s why Doom doesn’t belong in the museum. It’s heavy metal. It’s rock and roll. You don’t put rock and roll in a museum, that’s just silly. We like going to the museum and we like rock and roll, we have both of those things in our lives. We don’t think of one as higher than the other.

1 response
I have never been one that really enjoyed playing video games, but my sister can sit in front of the tv and play the Wii for hours. When she was little my parents had to put a limit on how long she could pay on the computer each day because she could sit there for hours without even looking up from the screen. Although I have nothing against video games, I do believe they have contributed to the fact that kids these days are less active than when there was no such thing as video games. My parents always talk about how when they were little the only thing they could do for fun was go outside and play. I have no problem with playing video games in moderation, but I believe that parents should monitor their kids and make sure they are staying active and not spending all of their free time playing video games.