"This is what happens when a medium [videogames] ages."

There is a tendency in some art games to derive the artistic impact from refusing to let the player change things, from the conflict between what the player wants to achieve (and thinks he might be able to achieve) and what the designer has chosen to allow. At its simplest, the gimmick is to get the player to try to do something impossible, and then wait for him to give up.

But the more art games do this, the less effective the technique is -- especially in works that identify themselves formally with an art game movement.

6 responses
hi im chauna combes i am in the eng 345 class and just wanted to let you know who i am
Hey I am Erin McKay from your Eng 111 just thought I'd let you know
Hi, I'm Fei Wu. I'm in you ENG345 Class.
Hello Dr. Schimer.
This is Tereasa Sanders from the Eng. 345 course. This is an effort to indicate I am on this site location.
Hi Dr.James.
I am Sanghoon Sim from your ENG111. It was hard to utilize Twitter and blog for me because it is my first time in my life. I think I am a late adapter of technology.
hmm. interesting. My name is Karl Benko and I'm in your ENG 345